Safer Food Better Business 2009/2010

Food Northwest has secured funding from the Food Standards Agency to assist over 450 businesses across 12 Local Authorities as part of a project that will run until June 2010. The businesses will be coached to put in place a well documented Food Safety Management System via the Safer Food Better Business scheme.

Safer food, better business (SFBB) is an innovative and practical approach to food safety management. It has been developed to help small businesses put in place food safety management procedures and comply with food hygiene regulations.

Coaching will be delivered through a variety of methods including workshops, use of the Safer Food Better Business DVD, and one to one training sessions. Some interpretation resources are also available for businesses who have found it difficult to be involved previously due to language barriers.

Businesses wishing to get involved in the project should initially check if their Local Authority is involved, and if so contact the person detailed below:

Local authorities:

Allerdale Borough Council

David Copeland, Allerdale Borough Council , Allerdale House, Workington, Cumbria, CA14 3YJ

Tel: 01900 702590

Email: david.copeland@allerdale.gov.uk

 

Burnley Borough Council

Jayne Enright, Burnley Borough Council , First Floor, Parker Lane Offices, Burnley, BB11 2DT

Tel: 01282 425011 Ext 2454

Email: jenright@burnley.gov.uk

 

Carlisle City Council

Ruth Harland, Carlisle City Council , Civic Centre, Carlisle, Cumbria, CA3 8QG

Tel: 01228 817334

Email:  ruthh@carlisle.gov.uk

 

Copeland Borough Council

Andrew Smith, Copeland Borough Council , The Copeland Centre, Catherine Street, Whitehaven, Cumbria, CA28 7SJ

Tel: 01946 598346

Email: andrew.smith@copeland.gov.uk

 

Eden District Council

Cath Rowlandson, Eden District Council , Mansion House, Penrith, Cumbria, CA11 7YG

Tel: 01768 212335

Email:  cath.rowlandson@eden.gov.uk

 

Hambleton District Council

Maria Bentley, Hambleton District Council , Civic Centre, Stonecross, Northallerton, North Yorkshire, DL6 2UU

Tel: 01609 767085

Email:  maria.bentley@hambleton.gov.uk

 

Lancaster City Council

Rachel Stainton, Lancaster City Council , Town Hall, Marine Road, Morecambe, LA4 5AF

Tel: 01524 582707

Email: rstainton@lancaster.gov.uk

 

Preston City Council

Simon Neighbour, Preston City Council , Lancastria House, Lancaster Road, Preston,

Tel: 01772 906160

Email: s.neighbour@preston.gov.uk

 

South Lakeland District Council

Tracy Howard, South Lakeland District Council , South Lakeland House, Lowther Street, Kendal, LA9 4UD

Tel: 01539 797527

Email: t.howard@southlakeland.gov.uk

 

South Ribble Borough Council

Melanie Berry, South Ribble Borough Council , Civic Centre, West Paddock, Leyland, Preston, Lancs, PR25 1DH

Tel: 01772 625396

Email: mberry@southribble.gov.uk

 

Wakefield Metropolitan District Council

Steven Hesford, Wakefield Metropolitan District Council , Newton Bar (Lower Building), Leeds Road, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, WF1 2TX

Tel: 01924 305971

Email: shesford@wakefield.gov.uk

 

West Lancashire Borough Council

Mike Tasker, West Lancashire Borough Council , Westec House, 52 Derby Street, Ormskirk, Lancashire, L39 2DQ

Tel:  01695 585242

Email: michael.tasker@westlancs.gov.uk